Advertisements

Disabling the GNOME Nautilus navigation history

Previously I wrote about how to disable your GNOME Recent Documents menu. This post covers a second GNOME history menu: That which is contained at the bottom of your ‘Go’ menu.

The part you see in the image, below the “Clear History” is the navigation history. It contains a list of recently accessed folders, removable devices, and network shares. The one thing to mention about this menu is that it’s session-based. It isn’t written to the hard drive, and when you log off it’s erased. However, if making sure this menu isn’t available at all is your concern, then read on.

You need to make changes to the file /usr/share/nautilus/ui/nautilus-navigation-window-ui.xml — make a backup of it just in case you break something! So now open the file in an editor or run the following:

sudo gedit /usr/share/nautilus/ui/nautilus-navigation-window-ui.xml

Scroll down to around line 47 and you should see the following:


Delete those three lines. Log out and then back in to see your changes. This will make the change effective for all users.

Questions, comments, and feedback on this are welcome and appreciated!

Advertisements

, ,